Skip to main content

Resident Graduate Survey

The University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita sponsors three family medicine residency programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education: Smoky Hill-Salina, Via Christi in Wichita, and Wesley in Wichita. The Wesley program was accredited in 1969, one of the original accredited family medicine residency programs in the country. The Via Christi program is a product of the 1996 merger of the St. Joseph program (accredited in 1970, the 44th program in the United States) and St. Francis program which admitted its first two residents in 1976. The Smoky Hill-Salina program was created by an act of the Kansas legislature in 1977 and has an explicit mission to educate family physicians who will practice in rural Kansas.

The Department of Family & Community Medicine has conducted a survey of residency graduates every two years since 1992. Typically, a maximum of three mailings are sent to each graduate. In 2012, the survey was sent to 915 graduates and an extra fourth mailing was selectively made to non-responders who practiced in Kansas with the purpose of increasing the Kansas-specific response rate. Information from the 2012 survey (and previous surveys when trending data) was used to develop the "one-pagers" listed below.

Last modified: Oct 02, 2018