Skip to main content


KUSM-W > Anesthesiology


The Department of Anesthesiology is an ACGME accredited program affiliated with the University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita network of residency programs which include: Anesthesiology, Family Medicine, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Orthopaedic Surgery, Pediatrics, Psychiatry and Radiology.

The residency program is a four-year categorical program with the PGY-1 residents completing a preliminary year affiliated with the Department of Internal Medicine and then transitioning to the advanced portion of anesthesiology training during the remainder of their residency. The residents will gain experience in anesthetic practice at several practice sites including two level-1 trauma centers in Wichita (Wesley Medical Center and Ascension Via Christi St. Francis), several Wichita outpatient surgery centers, and the Wichita VA Medical Center.

The program is proud of its many graduates who have gone on to become highly successful in different practice settings and sub-specialties.

Last modified: Aug 21, 2020
Anesthesiology Contact

Samuel Crawford
Residency Coordinator

Ascension Via Christi St. Francis
929 N. St. Francis, Room 8074
Wichita, KS 67214