Quality Improvement/Patient Safety Conference - October 7, 2015

This conference is intended to showcase Quality Improvement and Patient Safety research, through a keynote presentation and Quality Improvement poster symposium.


Resident Poster Winners
First Place Winner

"Physician Utilization of the Spot Urine Protein to Creatinine Ratio versus the 24-hour Total Urine Protein to Diagnose Proteinuria"
First author: Rachel M. Bender, M.D.
Faculty mentor: Darren Farley, M.D.
Department: Obstetrics & Gynecology
Additional authors: Leigh A. Doane, M.D., Elizabeth Kraft, MS-4, Frank Dong, Ph.D., Jennifer Duong, MPH, Darren Farley, M.D.

Second Place Winner
"Improving HIV Screening"
First author: Isaac M. Chambers, M.D.
Faculty mentor: Robert Badgett, M.D.
Department: Internal Medicine


Dr. Brull is a fJen Brullamily medicine physician in solo practice in Plainville, Kansas. She obtained her medical degree from the University of Kansas School of Medicine and completed family medicine residency training in Topeka, Kansas. This is her fourteenth year of private practice in a rural area where she percepts medical and physician assistant students on a regular basis. She served two years as an HIT Fellow for the Office of the National Coordinator and was recently recognized as a Hypertension Control Challenge Champion by the CDC. She is a physician leader in quality improvement, electronic record adoption, change management, and health information exchange. Special interests include integrating promotion of healthy behaviors into the office visit and the use of social media in medicine. 

Last modified: Oct 08, 2015