Skip to main content

Medical Sciences

KUSM-W > Medical Sciences > Education > Undergraduate Medical Education

Undergraduate Medical Education (UME)

The four years of a medical school curriculum are known as Undergraduate Medical Education or UME. The Department of Medical Sciences has primary responsibility for the first two years of the medical school curriculum at the KU School of Medicine-Wichita.  (Click here for information about the third and fourth years.)

Year 1 | Year 2 | Expansion Timeline

Year 1:  The first year curriculum is an integrated model organized largely around organ systems. The same curriculum is offered at all three campuses of the KU School of Medicine (Kansas City, Salina, and Wichita) with lectures presented via interactive television from any of the three campuses. Small group sessions are conducted with local faculty leaders at all three locations. These include discussions of case-based patient presentations, histopathology labs, human anatomy labs, and clinical skills. There are seven modules through the first year of the curriculum, in chronological order:

Foundations of Medicine
Genetics and Neoplasia
Inflammation and Immunity
Renal and Endocrine
Gastrointestinal and Nutrition
Reproduction and Sexuality

Click here for additional details about the first-year curriculum.


Year 2:  The second year curriculum continues the integrated model of the first year and is offered, beginning Fall 2012, on all three campuses in a similar fashion as the first year.  There are six modules through the second year of the curriculum, in chronological order:

Musculoskeletal and Soft Tissue 
Brain and Behavior
Infectious Diseases
Blood and Lymph
Integration and Consolidation

Click here for additional details about the second-year curriculum.


Expansion Timeline: The Wichita Campus welcomed its first class of third-year medical students in 1974. Since that time, it has offered the third and fourth years of the curriculum in Wichita. The class size has grown from 14 to more than 50 each year.

In the fall of 2011, the inaugural class of eight first-year medical students joined the Wichita Campus, followed by 28 each successive year. Evaluation of the success of the effort and the need for physicians in Kansas will drive consideration of further expansion to as many as 70 first- and second-year students, pending LCME approval.

Last modified: Jan 28, 2016
Contact Us

Department of Medical Sciences
KU School of Medicine–Wichita
1010 North Kansas
Wichita, KS 67214-3199